Dutch Truffle Cake

Love is in the air.

Love is in the air.

Fresh air. Bright beautiful sun. Clear crisp morning. And a dear friend’s birthday.

All reasons good enough for me to — BAKE!
So what better way
to start my day
With a rich moist chocolate cake!!

I’m attempting poetry 🙂 Relax family n friends, just kidding. (I can almost see them shake their heads and roll their eyes).

I have always baked plain sponge cakes. Very rarely with icing and frosting. But lately, I have been making this rich cake, and its a great success most of the times(I want to forget the moment, when I burnt the cake down on my little sister’s birthday)

So, with no intention of ruining another’s show,
I set forth, with all my baking tools in tow.

I know, you’re squirming in your seats. Don’t squirm, just sit firm. Ditch the rice, Feast your eyes, Dutch truffle is nice!!
Yay!!

Dutch Truffle.

Dutch Truffle.

Without any delay, lets start the recipe melee!

Ingredients

For the Chocolate Cake –

  • 170 gms all purpose flour
  • 30 gms cocoa powder
  • 100 gms butter
  • 160 gms sugar
  • 100 gms milk powder
  • 1 bowl of curds
  • milk as required
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • ½ tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp soda bicarb

For the Truffle Frosting –

Fresh cream – 200ml, I used Amul Cream
Dark Chocolate – 50gms, I used Morde’s, cut into pieces

Method

Sieve the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder and baking soda together.Preheat oven. While your oven is getting ready, you get going with your batter.
In a mixing bowl, take sugar and butter, mix it well to form a smooth consistent paste. Preferably, make 3 parts of sugar and butter, and gradually add both to make it smooth.

Now take curd and milk powder, add to the buttered sugar paste and keep mixing to make a smooth frothy batter. Now slowly add maida-cocoa and vanilla to this paste, mix it well. Beat the batter. Add milk to improve consistency and decrease resistance. All in all, it takes about 15 minutes to get the batter ready.

Grease a baking dish with butter, sprinkle flour, pour the batter into the baking dish. Place in oven and bake for 40-45 mins at a temperature of 160 degree centigrade.

Keep an eye on your cake. After about 40 mins, insert a toothpick or a knife in the center of the cake … if it comes out clean, it means the cake is ready!. Else let it be awhile to bake more.

After the cake is finally done, remove from oven, and let it cool for 15 mins, then turn over the dish over a flat plate.

Now for the Icing – In a microwavable bowl, take the chocolate pieces and cream. Run it for a minute till it is smooth and knot free. Now, place the bowl in the refrigerator for about 10 minutes. Remove once cool. Frost your cake with this delicious rich ganache. I divided the cake into 3 layers, and generously iced each layer with this beautiful dark brown chocolate.

Visual Treat. It's no mean feat.  Finished it neat.

Visual Treat. Its no mean feat. Finished it neat.

It looked sooo yumm,
Not biting into it would be dumb.
Milee was drooling all this time
Depriving her a piece would be a crime.
We couldn’t wait till evening,
It would be mind numbing.
So, I cut the cake all up,
Set little pieces aside for the birthday girl,
ate our shares till we could not curl,
For all my rhyming I deserve a cup!

One last look.

One last look.

9 thoughts on “Dutch Truffle Cake

  1. wah wah kya baat hai….this cake is looking so tasty and with ur pinch of poetry added to this receipe made it more beautiful…

  2. hey can u please tell me how much would one bowl of curd be? I mean in terms of a standard (250ml) 1 cup? Thanks for the recipe. it looks great.

    • Around 200ml or less. When I put her curd n.milk in the cake, its almost by andaaz/ approximate guess. Please try using your discretion and if it doesn’t turn out the way you want, then I will srch arnd n give u an exact amount:-) happy baking!

  3. Amazing recipe. The taste is a bit bitter (how to reduce the bitterness) but great for grown ups.
    I used 190gms of curd.

    • Hi Vipsha! The cake from this recipe is not at all bitter, I am sure there’s some confusion. I just use 1 bowl of curds and I think 190 gms would be too much. Please try using a small bowl of curds and then gauge the taste. Maybe it will be better. Let me know if this helps!

Leave a Reply

