For a Mocktail and a Salad – Get Guava

“You got a dozen of guavas?!!”, I asked incredously.
“They looked sooo good and buying in bulk is any day cheaper…”, mumbled He.
“What bulk… what do I do with so many! How will we finish, and if they turn a little bit ripe.. no one eats… “..my laments were falling on deaf ears, the Bulk buyer was coolly walking off.

When we were little, guava was never given its due. We just took it for granted. It was there. Just like that. Like, always. Abundantly available. Delicious. Healthy. Cheap.
But a few years in a foreign land changed my perspective. Now, I wouldn’t want even one of them going wasted. How ever less we pay, Guava has a priceless tag on it.

Lemony Guava Mint Cooler

Lemony Guava Mint Cooler

Guava Corn Pomegranate Salad

Guava Corn Pomegranate Salad

I stare at them. A bag full of fresh firm green guavas. They look good, I admit to myself. But to finish off twelve of them within a day or two is mind you – is not an easy task! In dilemmas like these, I do what I do best – curiously seek new recipes.

A mocktail and a salad were dished up amidst hectic schedules, annual festive cleaning, dance and swimming lessons. Now will you call my search fruitful? You Will! if you can just lay your hands on some fresh guavas that is ;).

Indian Avacado

Fresh Green Almost Unripe Guavas

Multiple Benefits

Multiple Benefits

Ooh! By the way, did you know guavas contain four times more Vitamin C than oranges? I didn’t. And while we’re comparing guavas and oranges, did you know that a guava has 70 times the amount of fiber as an orange? Interesting isn’t it.

Guava is also rich in vitamins A, B1, B2, E, calcium, copper, folate, manganese, iron, potassium, and phosphorus. They can help your body deal with high blood pressure, constipation, lung congestion, high cholesterol levels, and more. Cool Eh?!

Allright! Back to business. Time for some super simple recipes:

Guava Mint Mocktail Recipe

Serve it chilled

Serve it chilled

Makes 2 glasses –

Ingredients

  • 1 medium sized guava, washed and diced
  • 2 tbsp mint leaves, chopped
  • a tiny piece of ginger
  • Juice of 1/2 a lime
  • rock salt to taste
  • 2 tsp sugar or honey, as you wish

Method

Throw in all the ingredients in a blender along with a cup of water. Blend well till there are no coarse pieces left. Add more water if necessary. Once done, sieve to remove the guava seeds. Taste, season with more lime juice or salt if necessary.

Serve with lots of ice.

Guava Burnt Corn Pomegranate Mint Salad

To Go Salad

To Go Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 cup deseeded, chopped fresh green guavas, or any guava of your choice
  • 1/2 cup corn kernels, I roasted mine on the flame, you could add boiled too
  • 1/2 cup pomegranate seeds
  • 2 tbsp fresh chopped mint leaves

For the dressing:

  • Juice of 1 whole lime
  • 1/2 tsp extra virgin olive oil
  • rock salt to taste
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • red chili flakes to taste

Method

In a bowl, mix all the ingredients of the dressing. Whisk well. To the dressing, add guavas, corn kernels and pomegranate seeds along with mint leaves. Mix well.

Chill for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Simple and Refreshing

Simple and Refreshing

I could not help myself and post more than one recipe in a single post. Guess old habits die hard. πŸ™‚

23 thoughts on “For a Mocktail and a Salad – Get Guava

  1. Wow. Beautiful salad and a great looking drink. I like that you added ice to the cooler, I bet you did it for the pictures, coz you NEVER serve ice! πŸ™‚

  2. I’ve had guavas, of course, but never really took to them. It’s the seeds thing, you know. But they way you served them makes me think twice about them. Plus, didn’t know how healthy they are. Now that I know, and with the recipes you provided, I’m running out of excuses not to buy a dozen! πŸ™‚

    • Yes I agree, the seed bit can be quite a turn off. My mom always advised us not to bite into the seed… either discard them or swallow the seeds whole. But the good news is, in a mocktail sieve to chuck the seeds out and in a salad, deseed the fruit! So this way enjoy your guava plus benefit from its enormous nutritional content.

  3. I love guava….thanks for the yummy recipes. I love the pink inside guavas, which I don’t get in U.S. Someday I will try your mocktail with pink guavas πŸ™‚ I like that you added burnt corn in your salad, I can imagine the deep flavor….nicely done πŸ™‚

  4. I love guavas! You are right about taking certain things for granted, till they are no longer available.
    It is a wonder fruit. Very low in glycemic index too. When I was expecting, my doc advised me to eat guavas instead of apples or other fancy fruit. I miss them now…
    I have seen guava drinks in grocery stores here, which taste nothing like the real thing. But have never ever tried making it with fresh guavas… interesting!

    • Thanks Anjana, I was expecting when I was in US, and I missed all our Indian fruits – guavas, pomegranates and oranges(you know the Indian kind). These are humble everyday fruits but definitely felt very exotic to me in those times.. πŸ™‚

  5. Oh yum, Namrata! This looks delicious. I so miss guavas in USA. We do get it here sometimes in international market under exotic fruits…can you believe a fruit in exotic category which is so local in India and is everywhere in season :).. I bought it few times but nothing compared to the original desi taste.
    The salad looks so inviting and drink looks refreshing.

  6. Ha ha…. I can identify with your first sentence… I get the same reaction πŸ˜‰ when i get something new or extra… But that apart, beautiful due to the humble guava.. Nice post and awesome dishes,,

  7. Love love love guavas they used to grow in our garden back in Africa and I feel I never consumed enough of them till I came to UK an started missing them. I usually eat semi ripe with a sprinkle if chilli and salt but Tgi takes it to another level, great to add to my drinks selection when entertaining x

    • Me too… a little salt and chili is ideal for semi ripe gauvas…. we all dislike it when it turns fully ripe.. kinda smells. do try it in a drink.. its very refreshing.

  8. awesome drink. i love gauvas, we use to pluck them from trees when we were little and eat them by sprinkling some kala namak or chaat masala. i miss them, we don’t get any in UK. will try this drink on my next visit to india.

Leave a Reply

