Whole Wheat Oats Banana Honey Bread – Eggless, Sugarless, Butterless

Whole Wheat Oats Banana Honey Bread

Whole Wheat Oats Banana Honey Bread

Less is definitely more. Especially when it comes to this divine soft dense bread. Going sugar free and fat free along with skipping the eggs is no joke guys. Really. Skeptical from scratch, I still ventured ahead because the germ of the idea had firmly incorporated itself in my head.
Banana bread. Sounds so enticing, and when you make it literally fat free and supremely healthy who would want to wait and why? πŸ™‚

So healthy

So healthy

If truth be told, I had never eaten banana bread before but had seen numerous recipes floating around. So when I came across this super healthy recipe with easily available ingredients I got all excited and eager. I sieved, mixed and baked. And then I waited. While the beauty rose, my house smelled warm and divine. I could hardly wait for it to cool down. To kill time, I put up teasers on my page on FB, chatted with friends, disturbed the husband and checked the clock repeatedly.

Finally when my knife sank into the well risen bread, well.. so did my heart. It was dense and slightly sticky. My face fell. The excitement evaporated. What did I make? Is it supposed to be like this? This thing has all the stuff which never goes into making bread – whole grain, oats, no sugar, no butter, no eggs… yea, it has all rights to be what it is. I was crest fallen.

When I took a teeny tiny piece for him to taste and give his highly valued verdict, all that he could gesture(he was on those never ending conf calls of his) was ‘ya nice, now go’. Sigh! With no bona fide feedback, I resigned to FB and friends. They did rescue me. Both FB food groups and my dear friends.

So what I learnt was that Banana bread is naturally dense and more moist than other cakes. Depending on the quantity of bananas used, the result could vary in stickiness(I hope that’s a word).
Oh Well. One pal of mine went a step ahead, smeared a slice with some tart marmalade and encouraged me to take a mouthful. I hesitated. But just one bite was enough to tell me, I didn’t have a recipe failure for sure πŸ™‚ It tasted SO good with the fruit preserve, that I wondered why I was in any doubt in the first place.

Yumm with some nutella

Yumm with some nutella

gorgeous Crust

gorgeous Crust

This recipe has been adapted from here.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup whole wheat flour or atta
  • 1 cup mashed banana
  • 1/2 cup Oats
  • 1/3 cup Orange juice or sweet lime juice
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 3 tbsp. oil
  • 1 tsp. apple cider vinegar
  • 3 tbsp. chocolate chips
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • A pinch of salt

Method

Preheat oven to 180Β°C and grease a bread pan and keep aside.

Take whole wheat flour, Oats, baking soda, baking powder, salt and chocolate chips in a large bowl and mix well. In another bowl add mashed banana, oil, honey, cider vinegar, mosambi juice and combine well.

Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the wet ingredients in it. Mix until just combined.
Pour the batter in the greased baking tin and bake for about 40 minutes or till done. Mine was done in 50 minutes. Once done. Cool well. Invert and slice thinly.

Serve with butter or jam or nutella.

Good with some butter

Good with some butter

Note: Sanjeeta of LiteBite.in encourages to use apple cider vinegar as it acts as a substitute to eggs and gives lightness to the bake. Apple cider variety has a lovely taste than the plain vinegar. If you want to skip it, then add yogurt instead.

Jam and Nutella - perfect on some bread

Jam and Nutella – perfect on some bread

For the next two days, my breakfast comprised of a slice of this delicious bread, some marmalade, a glass of warm milk and 5-6 almonds. The natural sweeteners in the cake took care of my day’s sweet cravings and I for one felt like some harbinger of good health and nutrition.

Sugarless, butterless and eggless

Sugarless, butterless and eggless

16 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Oats Banana Honey Bread – Eggless, Sugarless, Butterless

  1. You’ve nailed it Nams… :). Though I havent made banana bread myself, I have eaten number of times and the texture, density is just what it should be. Baking bread at home… Seriously, that awesome..

    Btw, is there an email id i can connect with you on?

  2. Beautiful Bread Nams. I am not a fan of banana bread, but these pics might just make me πŸ™‚ And Yes, banana bread is slightly dense, so you really have hit the nail right on it’s head. Good job.

  3. I made a sugarless and butterless banana bread with whole oats but my recipe has an egg in it. I accidentally forgot to put it and I was so worried of the outcome but voila! Still turned out great and looks like the texture of what is shown in your pictures:) You did a great job making this healthy banana bread recipe!

Leave a Reply

