Vegetarian Chili

It was a cloudy cold evening, the sun ready to bid us adieu. Outside the breeze was crisp and biting. The White Plains country side offered such majestic views that I for once sat awestruck and tongue tied throughout the drive. It was my first visit in the US. You know how it is with the firsts. We always remember those moments vividly. What is it about them that makes it so special… is it the visuals? Or maybe the setting sun or those beautiful stone imperial houses which carry a sense of mystery around them. The triggers are many. But for me, one thing that remains etched in my memory is the aroma. The divine cumin flavored fragrance which was so intriguing that it haunts me even now.

Vegetarian Chili with brown rice

Vegetarian Chili with brown rice

We were invited by his boss for dinner. I was to meet them for the first time. And I was anxious, not to forget vegetarian and exotic in my cuisine, 10 years back, included just chinese and pizza-burgers. I ate a bit before we left fearing that what would a firangi feed? Maybe canned food or some frozen pizza.

Well, we reach his august house, set in the outskirts of White Plains, NY. Dreading an anxious evening ahead, I was at my reserved best. I had decided to speak little, smile more and hardly eat.
Ah! well, preconceived notions about a culture or a country can be so misleading! It isn’t really what Hollywood or those silly sitcoms show you – realized it pretty soon.

The Spens family turned to be the most gracious hosts, ever! They greet us like they have known us all their lives, the man’s formidable appearance gets shadowed by his bear hug, the lovely delicate wife’s soft warm hands envelope mine in simple affection. The kids are so well mannered and amiable that I vowed to trash all my prized albeit deceitful DVDs. The house inside is warm, cosy and so inviting, a contrast to the august exteriors. The genial ambience made me chatty and smiley more than what I had planned! πŸ™‚

Protein Packed

Protein Packed

Inside on the stove, sat a simmering pot. A pot which emanated such amazing whiffs of cumin and spices and tomatoes and garlic. The entire house radiated with its essences. Apparently Mr Spens is the cook in the family. And that night, he made us a bubbling pot of Mexican Chili, a vegetarian version of the famous Chili Con Carne. Chili is a spicy stew consisting of meat, spices, tomatoes and cheese. But te vegetarian version replaces the meat with a meat analogue, such as textured vegetable protein or tofu, or a starchy vegetable, such as potatoes. These chilis nearly always include beans.

Goes great with rice

Goes great with rice

The Recipe:

Ingredients

  • 2 cups cooked red kidney beans or rajma
  • 1 cup assorted vegetables, zucchini, broccoli, potatoes, mushrooms, chopped
  • 1/2 cup tofu – optional
  • 1/4 cup, mixed bell peppers, chopped
  • 1 big onion, chopped
  • 5-6 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3-4 green chilies, minced – optional
  • 2 tomatoes, red and ripe, chopped
  • 1 cup tomato puree
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tsp paprika or red chily powder
  • 1 tsp cumin powder
  • 1 tsp oregano powder
  • red chili flakes, optional
  • salt to taste
  • Cheese to garnish
  • Coriander leaves to garnish

Method

In a deep thick bottomed pot, heat oil. Saute onions, garlic and green chilies. Once slightly pink, then add the peppers. After a couple of minutes, add the tomatoes, along with some salt. Cover and cook till almost done. This will take about 10 minutes. At this stage add the chopped vegetables and pre cooked beans. Give it a mix. Add the tomato puree, along with paprika. Mix well and let the entire thing smolder for at least 15-20 minutes. Keep stirring in between to avoid burning.

Season with cumin and oregano. Just before serving, garnish with cheese and chopped coriander leaves.

Serve hot with rice or enjoy as it is.

Rajma with vegetables

Rajma with vegetables

“Simmer… simmer as long as you can.. thats what brings out the flavors of the spices..”, he advices. He served the delicacy with basmati rice and some red wine. Needless to say, our dinner was divine.

Memories

Memories

No matter how long I bubble, the spices I add or the beans I cook, I somehow fail to replicate the taste of the that night. Is it because it was my first, I wonder.

19 thoughts on “Vegetarian Chili

  1. Chilli I have made just once. It was well liked by all then why did I not make it again? Good question? Anyway thi will get done this time around especially now that the heat will start getting to me and i will want to get out of the kitchen,

  2. You are such a wonderful writer… it’s fun just reading your stories, the food is a bonus! Love the look of this chilli, I am a huge fan of any chilli bean dish. And yes, I do think that nothing tastes like your first experience with any particular dish you love. I’ve been trying to replicate a kangaroo rendang that my husband and I tried a couple of years ago… never tastes quite the same as it did then! Thanks for this lovely recipe x

Leave a Reply

