Red Bean Paneer Ginger Pomegranate Salad

Rajma, paneer, ginger pomegranate Salad

Rajma, paneer, ginger pomegranate Salad

Sometime back, dishing up a salad was just tossing cucumbers and tomatoes generously sprinkled with lime and chaat masala. Not anymore. Not when I strive to eat huge big bowls of raw eats and wrack my brain to include assorted new vegetables and some form of protein. Most of the times I am successful and there have been times when I have been horribly let down. But lets not talk about the dampeners. I am here to give you a wonderful protein rich salad recipe that I concocted on a whim!

Protein rich!

Protein rich!

I used red kidney beans. Soaked them well for over 5/6 hours, and boiled in a pot full of salted water, they added body to the salad bowl. The nutty soft texture from the beans laced with crunchy raw veggies makes for a succulent combination.

Boiled and ready

Boiled and ready

A handful of these red pearly shiny fruit elevates the acidic salty salad to another level. Always add a citrus fruit. Some fruit, any fruit – orange segments, berries, kiwis, apples, cherries etc. The list is huge. But for now, pomegranates it is.

These pearls add the required sweet and tartness

These pearls add the required sweet and tartness

Beans are slow to digest and if not boiled or chewed well, they can cause a lot of heartburn, acidity and stomach ache. So I added julienne ginger pickled in salt and lime juice as a bit of garnishing. Ginger aids in digestion and helps in absorption and assimilation of essential nutrients. Ginger is highly pungent so a little bit is enough for your salad bowl. Feel free to skip it if you can’t tolerate the sharpness.

pickled ginger

pickled ginger

Mint!! Who doesn’t love mint! Its refreshing. Its aromatic. Its healthy. So, I added loads πŸ™‚

lots of it!!

lots of it!!

The Recipe: For two people –

Ingredients

1 cup boiled red kidney beans or rajma

1/2 cup diced cottage cheese or paneer

1 cucumber, diced

1 red onion, diced

1 tomato, diced

2 tsp ginger julienne – soaked in little lime and salt for 30 minutes.

1/2 cup pomegranate

3 tbsp mint leaves, chopped

For the vinaigrette – mix 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil, juice of 1 lime, 1 tsp honey, salt and pepper to taste.

Optional: 1 tsp more oil to sautΓ© the cheese if you do not like it as is.

Method

Saute the paneer/cottage cheese if required. Mix all said ingredients except the vinaigrette. chill for 30 minutes. Pour the limey dressing over it. Toss. Chill for another 10 minutes.

Serve.

lemony dressing

lemony dressing

I like the paneer as it is, but I know many who don’t. A bit of sautΓ©ing or grilling does the trick to include it in your salads.

She takes a bite

She takes a bite

When I sit with my bowl of raw veggies, I fish for my favourites and relish the juices from the marinated fruits and vegetables. Flavors like these make me go back every single night to these huge enticing bowls. So yumm!

I am taking this to Angie Weekly Potluck party – Friday Fiesta #30!

40 thoughts on “Red Bean Paneer Ginger Pomegranate Salad

  1. Your plate is tempting me to pick a spoonful and pop it in my mouth! So refreshing and cool! Lovely photos! I admire your patience to chop cucumber into pretty little cubes. Hats off!

  2. What a lovely recipe with bold flavours! I have not tried adding big pieces of ginger in a salad, but soaking in lime juice would make it palatable suppose?

    • yes, bold it is. North, esp delhi punjab, we have pickled ginger as side to our mains. We usually stock it in our fridge. The colour is a beautiful gorgeous pink if kept for a longer time. The lime and salt cut the astringency. So do try it, maybe you adapt to the taste.

    • Its the ginger julienne which is intriguing everyone… but I had to add some sort of strong element to beat the flatulence from beans. pickling the ginger really helps!

Leave a Reply

