Photography Styling Challenge #12: Personal

Photography Styling Challenge

Photography Styling Challenge

I signed up for the challenge without batting an eyelid. I never usually do things like that. I am a very conscious girl to the point of being negative, that I review the decisions I have taken a million times before actually taking them. So when I signed up for this.. so simply, I knew I had myself in trouble! But impromptu choices like these are what make my life so interesting. Stumble and fall I did in the first few, then a few encouraging words from M, a bit of practice, a bit of reading and observing and I find myself actually loving it! I finally enjoyed the process and yeah, the results too. 🙂

So the finale is to be shot with anything or anyone you consider Personal. The theme is vast and so I was pretty clueless for some days. But here is my take on the concept.
I have been journalling snippets of my life. Though not as regular as I would like to be, I still write when something special happens to me. Happy moments and some sad. Few successes and some failures. The beauty of life and its ugly side…my journal has seen it all. Emulating the mother, my 7 year old daughter jots down precious moments too – of course in her diary.

Here are a few typical scenes from the table:

My Study

My Study

My glasses hold a very special place at the writing table!

Can't do much without them

Can’t do much without them

So, she barges in when I am trying to do a shoot, insists on laying her diary and paraphernalia too.

She writes too :)

She writes too 🙂

Now that is my favorite pen, a fine micro tip gel.

Personal

Personal

I hope you enjoyed the pictures. To check out the other participants, click here:

Redesigned By M
At the corner of Happy and Harried
Inge Kathleen Photography
City Girl Searching
The Delicious World Of Chefette Spicy
A Tree Grows In The Bayou
I Live Under A Rock Called Table Mountain
Hooked on homes
Samta Photography
Miss Wang Photography
SimplyVegetarian777
Coconut Craze

So what started off unpremeditated and turned out painful and despairing in the beginning, ultimately proved to be fruitful, gratifying and a wonderful experience for me. I am just so glad I could be a part of this. This is the last post of the challenge. I hope M comes up with another series of such challenges, and again I would be a part of it, without batting an eyelid 🙂

14 thoughts on “Photography Styling Challenge #12: Personal

  1. Pingback: Photography Styling Challenge #12: The Final One | Redesigned By M

  2. Beautifully captured! I always envy people who maintain a journal because I can never do it. Tried many times but failed and there are one or two pages filled and the rest blank. Your black background makes all the photos pop.

  3. Its a short but superbly written post Namrata!! I have always been a fan of your pictures and Im sure it will keep getting better. Do keep writing !! 🙂

  4. Looking back on the first few themes, it was quite amusing (for me) to get your emails and sense the frustrations you were feeling at not “getting [your photos] right”. You were so eager to learn and I loved that about you. Thank you for joining me on this challenge. I hope you feel my guidance has given you some confidence in styling and photography. ~M.

  5. Lovely Namrata, I love your photographs this month. And the fact that your sweet daughter is joining in is so precious. Hope to see you around the blogging world again soon! x

  6. Pingback: Photography Styling Challenge #12: The Final One - Planq Studio

Leave a comment